Musings from Home

Silliness with Sapphire

As you may have guessed, I have a touch of melodrama in me. The subject that gets me going these days better than anything else is how fast little Sapphire is “growing up on me”, as I call it. She is in her last year of preschool, going five mornings a week. If I let myself, I can fast forward to next fall when my little Boop is off to Kindergarten and coincidentally (not in a good way), Emerald is moving on to the big bad world of Middle School. [Side note: I know middle school is not that bad, but it does mean my little girl is truly not little anymore — although she’s been telling me that for years.]

Anyway, back to Sapphire. I have known since last spring that this fall would hit me hard if I let it, especially after Sapphire started telling me she never had any time with me because I was working so much (from home). I decided then that I would not spend her last year at home with me (at least in the afternoons) at my computer while she played alone in her room. I would make the most of the time I have left with my little, little one.

So I began thinking about how to make that happen and a few weeks ago, I was finally ready to put a plan in motion. I rearranged my schedule, cut back substantially, and positioned myself to spend as much time with her as possible. This is going to be a year to remember — for both of us!

Let the silliness, the craftiness, the cookingness, the game-playingness, the picture-takingness, and all the other “nesses” we can dream up begin. Toward that end, we spent yesterday afternoon just being silly. Here are some memories to warm this mama’s heart:

So what about y’all? What milestone in your own lives or those of your children hit you as the milestone of growing up: preschool, Kindergarten, middle school, high school, college, first job? I know from my experience so far with Emerald that so many of them will do it for me. Be still my heart.

Comments on: "Silliness with Sapphire" (3)

  1. Such a cutie pie.

    We have a new middle schooler this year AND she’s turning 13 this week. I’m trying not to get weepy just thinking about it.

  2. How smart you are to document these moments; I know you and your family will cherish these memories looking back. I am so grateful that you are able to live according to your heart-centered values and personal priorities; what a blessing that is. All the best from our family to yours.

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

