Musings from Home

Mea Culpa

When I was a kid, it became a joke in our house that everything was my fault. My ever-helpful brother even came up with examples of things from decades or even centuries before my birth that could be blamed on me. The Lindbergh kidnapping. The fall of the Roman Empire. It stuck and could always be counted on to bring a moment of levity on occasions that someone did in earnest blame me for something, which was not really my fault.

The other day at the end of a post, I made the mistake of saying “bring on the rain”. Ever since, we have had gray skies and intermittent periods of water droplets following from the sky. The last two mornings I have awoken to thunder storms. While I am not going to complain about the weather because (a) it doesn’t do any good and (b) I got what I asked for, I apologize to all of my fellow Virginians who have had enough of the rain and storms.

Mother Nature, I thank you for granting my request, but for everyone else’s sake, I ask that you let it stop now. I will be that selfless. 🙂 Sapphire and I can find other things to do instead of singing in the rain . . . and besides our neighbors might like a break from our performances. 🙂

Jim says that since this is the leading edge of the cold front, we must get through the storms to get cooler weather. To that I say, if that’s the price I must pay for fall weather moving back in, I’ll take it. Uh oh, here we go again . . .

Have you recently asked for something and gotten more than you planned for?

Tag Cloud

