Musings from Home

Thank You SJ

As I’ve mentioned before, I love my technology. It is my connection to everything around me — on my terms, when I choose. I am not a techie (unless we’re talking about science technology). I do not understand how electronics work. I do not know any computer language, yet I spend more time of my day (on average) in front of my computer than in any other location (except maybe my car). I work online (freelance), I check e-mail, I blog, I post on Facebook and read other people’s posts. I send and receive e-cards. Et cetera. Et cetera.

I also own and use an iPod and an iPad. I entertain my kids during long grocery store trips or long waits in line or at a restaurant with my electronics. I sit outside almost every night playing Emerald’s baton music on either my iPod or iPad, watching her practice her routine. I grab my iPod when I go for a walk. I prop my iPad up in the kitchen when cooking dinner to refer to the recipe. I even read books on my iPad, even though I also have a Kindle.

I can’t tell you all the ways technology enters into (and maybe even runs) my life. But I can tell you that before my first experience with a Mac, I had no idea how to use a computer and frankly no interest in putting forth the effort to learn. I was content with my pen, pad of paper (the old school use of the word “pad”), and my typewriter.

We now do not have to know anything about how computer language works or why this icon appears when we touch this key. All we have to know is how to turn on a machine, push a few buttons, drive a mouse or track pad, and use a few menus. Generally it is all pretty intuitive. I can usually play around a little bit and hunt under a few drop menus and find what I need. And if not, there’s always Google.

I’m not saying I don’t get frustrated. Refer to my first post. I also do not use only Apple products. For the past few years, I have chosen Windows computers (desktop and laptop) over Macs. But my start was on a Mac and I doubt I would’ve made that start if something so simple and unintimidating (have I said I like to make up words?) wasn’t around. I am amazed at all that a non-techie like me can now do with technology — in our own homes, our cars, or even walking around town.

Thank you, Steve Jobs, for giving us a start and for constantly striving to simplify our lives. Rest in peace. You’ve left a great legacy.

What’s your favorite Apple memory?

[Images are from:  http://www.google.com and http://www.techradar.com.]

Comments on: "Thank You SJ" (1)

  1. My first full-time job when I was 19 (early 1990’s) was teaching students how to use the Macs we had in our computer lab. I think there were 8 of them. We also had a row of PCs but those were a mystery to me. (Pre-Windows days!)

    Now I have a MacBook Pro, and several iPods. They really have a beauty to them. Wasn’t there a story not too long ago about how being a fan of Apple products is almost like a religion? I’m not there yet, but I can see how it happens.

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

