Musings from Home

Flush With Confidence

Eleven and a half years ago when Jim and I bought this house, we noticed that the bathrooms were equipped with low-flow commodes, which was code. These particular ones ran very slowly and were, to say the least, quite annoying. But we figured it was a minor thing and we can pretty much get used to anything, especially if it saves water. [We have since learned that low-flow didn’t have to mean low-performance.]

And we did get used to them, although we still grumbled every time they didn’t flush as they should. We employed strategies to tip the scales toward success: We used the upstairs bathrooms as much as possible to get gravity on our side and were careful how much paper we used (a good idea anyway to save resources).

But in the last couple of weeks, the shut-off valves in the two upstairs bathrooms stopped working. One didn’t shut off the water completely and the other leaked in the form of a spray all over the bathroom when turned “off”. This led to rules for the kids, such as “Do not flush for number twos. Call Mom or Dad for help.” I can’t speak for anyone else, but I was getting afraid to take care of business. Replacing the valves was on our “to do” list, but we weren’t in any particular rush.

It all came to a head, so to speak, at the end of last week when we had one particularly bad clog and I couldn’t clear it no matter what I did. And I couldn’t turn off the water. You can imagine the panic.

When it was all over, I decided right there and then that if we were not moving the next day (which of course we weren’t), we needed to bite the bullet and buy toilets that actually flushed as they should. Jim’s suggestion was to fix the valves, which would cost a lot less money and had to be done at any rate. But I was no longer going to accept “getting used to anything”. We were past that. It was time for proper function. Jim agreed because “if Mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy”. 🙂

Yesterday the plumber came and installed Three. Brand. New. Toilets. I was like a kid on Christmas. These babies even “whoosh” when you flush! The kids are tired of hearing about it (Em is also aghast that I would write a blog post about this), and no one else in the family is quite as giddy as I am about our new additions, but for me, having confidence in one of the two most important rooms in our house is the best present I could ask for. It’s the little things.

Is there anything in your house that would just make your year if you replaced it?

Comments on: "Flush With Confidence" (2)

  1. Replacing anything in my downstairs bathroom would make my year. Especially the old tile floors. I know at one time it must have been “expensive” and “nice,” but now it’s just dirty and old.

  2. It was the thrill of a lifetime to replace all of our old toilets, too!

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

