Musings from Home

I took a short blogcation, but I’m back. I hope you all had a wonderful holiday.

For a week or more before the actual day, I saw countless Black Friday ads. And for a week or more, I largely ignored them. I generally avoid stores (especially big box stores) on that particular day. While I like a good deal as much as the next person, I am not a big fan of huge crowds and I don’t see any savings as worth the risk of getting trampled or pepper-sprayed. [I know that only happens in a few locations each year.] To me, it’s just not worth the hassle and the aggravation. Add to that the fact that the girls and I are just about done with our Christmas shopping (and the rest are mostly gift cards we can easily pick up), and it was a recipe for staying away from  the sales and deleting the ads that preceded them.

But Thursday night I got an e-mail that caught my eye. It was from Fair Indigo and the subject was “Boycotting Black Friday”. Now this intrigued me, even as I wondered if it was a thinly veiled ad, intended to trick me into looking for the deals hidden inside.

To my surprise — and delight — this is what it said:

Now you cynics might say that this in itself is a ploy to get gullible people like me to shop at their site in the future, but I’m giving them the benefit of the doubt and I’m appreciating that they think about their employees and beyond that, that they offer food for thought to the rest of us for more meaningful ways to show we care.

Every Christmas season we try to do something with the girls to teach them to give back to the community or to help those who are less fortunate right now. Some years, it’s been Angel Tree. Other years, we’ve given them money to loan through Kiva. Others, we’ve contributed to classroom projects through DonorsChoose.org. Some years, it’s been a combination of several things.

Yes, many families already think about service and giving beyond just to their families and friends, but for a company to send this message without pushing their products at the same time, well to me that’s commendable. Way to go, Fair Indigo. I’m impressed — and touched.

Did anyone else receive this e-mail (or the same message via another mode)? If so, what did you think of it?

Comments on: "A Different Take on Black Friday" (2)

  1. I did not get this email, but I really appreciate what they’re doing. I refused to go into any stores over the weekend, except for one local market on Saturday to pick up some vegetables. I ordered one thing online on Friday, only because it was an expensive purchase and, in this case, the Black Friday savings were worth it.

  2. Your post makes me want to check out those sites. I also cannot tolerate crowds, and add to that the fact that we live in a remote rural location, most of my shopping gets done online. We don’t have a lot of people to shop for over the holidays so every year I pick a friend who’s down on her luck and we do something for them. Last year it was a trip to Walgreen’s to pick up personal supplies and toiletries, this year I think I will send Christmas dinner funds to a single mother and her son in Oklahoma. I’m not so naive as to believe I could not be in a position where I might need assistance some day. I needed help when going thru a divorce, and I’m happy to give back as needed, especially during the holidays.

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

