Musings from Home

Shower on It

A little over six years ago, I was starting my second year as Co-President of the cooperative preschool Emerald attended. We needed to make an important decision (I can’t now remember what), but I talked to the other Co-President, the teachers, and at least one other member of the Board of Directors that afternoon. We decided on an action. The next morning while I was in the shower, I thought of all the issues related to our proposed plan and ended up with a few concerns we needed to address and modifications we needed to make.

I didn’t think much of it until it happened again with another situation. I then instituted a personal policy that I don’t make any big decisions without waiting until the next morning and “showering on it”. The other Board member of the preschool joked about how I would always ask to defer the decision until the next morning. But for me, it worked — and still does.

Many people like to “sleep on” big decisions in their lives, but I have discovered that my morning shower is the time and place for my most uninterrupted, most relaxed thinking. This is the one time during my day that my brain is not divided between the myriad of tasks I’m trying to accomplish or planning to tackle. My mind just ponders whatever it wants to as I go about my morning routine.

This is generally the time that I figure out how to address situations with the girls or I think of better answers to things they asked me. This is the time I realize something wasn’t as big of a deal as I thought it was. If I have any creative ideas during the day, this is when I’m most likely to have them. In fact, most of my blog posts are drafted in the shower. I mold them and shape them in front of the computer, but the general outline and even some of the phrasings are products of my morning stream-of-conscious sessions as I get ready. The other day, I had no idea what I was going to write about (which is pretty rare for me) until I entered the shower. When I came out, my blog post was pretty much written in my head.

So if you ever need my help, my advice, or any creativity from me, don’t be surprised if I ask if I can get back to you the next morning — after my shower. 🙂

Do you have a specific time or place in which you are your most productive?

Comments on: "Shower on It" (1)

  1. I usually go for a run or power walk when I’m wrestling with a hard decision.

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

