Musings from Home

One Month — Andrea Style

I was really very touched by all the responses (both on here and on Facebook) that I received on yesterday’s post. It seems many of us struggle with the same issue, but it also seems that we all realize it. That can only be a good thing. Thanks for all of the support. I truly appreciate it.

Today, I’d like to talk about personal goals, only fitting since we have begun another year. But instead of the standard resolutions . . .

Once again my friend Jen has inspired me to try something new. This time last year, she decided that instead of making New Year’s resolutions that she wouldn’t keep, she would set one to three smaller, attainable goals each month and she would report back at the beginning of the next month on how she did on those goals and what her next goals would be. She also invited all others to join her.

I didn’t participate last year, although her monthly posts did make me think about my own goals. This year, I decided to give it a go. [For the record, since this is the third post in a row inspired by her, Jen is not my only blogger friend, but I do like her ideas. :)]

My goals for January are simple, but I think will lead to bigger things:

My first goal is to work on getting healthier by exercising at least 20 minutes on 20 or more days of the month.

My second goal is to reduce my family’s carbon footprint by these 5 simple steps:

1. Turning off all computers, printers, and all other electronic devices every night.

2. Changing 5 more lightbulbs in our house to compact fluorescent bulbs.

3. Eating red meat no more than 2 times per week. That includes any recipes containing red meat like chilli, stews, and soups.

4. Cutting down the amount of printer paper we use by half.

5. Fixing the weather-stripping on all of the doors in our house.

Will you join me? What are your goals for the month? Or if you prefer New Year’s resolutions, what are they this year?

Comments on: "One Month — Andrea Style" (3)

  1. Dang, I had no idea that I am so inspirational. 😉

    You know my goals already — lose 2-6 pounds this month and also cut out frivolous spending. One thing I didn’t blog about is that I have some running goals too, including working my way up to a half marathon in 2012.

  2. Well, one of my goals from last year was figuring out how to post directly to your blog…check! =)

    This post reminds me of the adage, “How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.” I wish you great success in your monthly goals and look forward to your inspiration.

    Btw, do you wear a pedometer? It’s something Tom and I took up last year and it’s a great morale boost on days that “exercise” comes more in the form of “mommy” rather than “gym”.

  3. I posted my goals on Jen’s blog too. For January they were to start blogging again (check) and to clear out the walk-in closet in my bedroom. Good thing I have a whole month to tackle that. 🙂

  4. I made a New Year’s Resolution once years ago that I haven’t yet broken: to make no more new year’s resolutions. I do like the idea of “baby-step” goals. And so my first official goal is a carry-over from last year: to work on my website more. I started that during my end-of-year staycation with giving it a facelift still in progress so Jan Goal #1 = complete the facelift. Jan Goal #2 – post at least once a week.

    Love your blog by the way! 🙂

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

