Musings from Home

Roomba Me

Last year (as in a couple of months ago), as Thanksgiving approached and my family members started asking me for Christmas wish lists, I had no idea what to ask for. I really couldn’t think of anything I needed. Other than the things that I always love to receive (like sweaters, books, and fun jewelry), I really couldn’t think of anything I wanted. I was totally at a loss as to what to put on my list. I’ve tried things like, “I’ll love anything you get me” in the past, but my loved ones, bless their hearts, aren’t really satisfied with that. So my plan was to mention a few things, like the ones in the parentheses above (I had already mentioned a purse to Emerald) and leave them to their own devices, because I truly do love anything the people I love pick out for me.

And then my friend Donna from graduate school posted on her Facebook page that she was thinking she might want a Roomba for Christmas and asked if anyone had one and if so, if it really worked.

A Roomba? What’s a Roomba? Of course I had to Google it that instant.

I soon discovered this is a Roomba:

A robot vacuum cleaner. How cool is that?

Now I do not like housework. Not one bit. I do it because, well, I like a clean house. While there are some chores I don’t mind a whole lot, like dusting and yes, even cleaning the kitchen and bathrooms, I strongly dislike vacuuming. I don’t really know why, but it is one of my least favorite housecleaning chores. Jim actually likes to vacuum, so I try to leave it to him, but with children and pets, we often have crumbs under the kitchen peninsula and table, and cardboard from scratch couches (for cats) all over the floor in several rooms. So vacuuming is often required more than the once-a-week whole-house cleaning covers, which means I find myself lugging the vacuum around much more than I would like (which to be honest, would be never).

As you would imagine, a robot vacuum piqued my interest more than a little bit, so I turned my attention back to Donna’s FB post and eagerly read the comments. To my surprise (this was too good to be true, right?) they were all good. Friends of hers either had one and loved it or knew someone who had one and loved it.

So this miracle robot which would take over my most dreaded household job became my Christmas list (at least as far as gifts from Jim went). I mentioned it to him, and although he was skeptical, he researched it with enthusiasm. I think he was happy to have an idea of something I was really excited about.

Of course, robot vacuums don’t come cheap, so this was an item he needed my input on. Together we selected the model. I think he may have hoped that the rest of the gift-giving process could be more in secret, but my prize gift arrived at our front door with big letters across the box: ROOMBA. So much for any sort of pretence. We both knew I knew what my present from my hubby was, and I couldn’t have been more thrilled.

The other fun part of this story is that Jim dislikes wrapping presents as much as I dislike vacuuming. And like vacuuming for Jim, gift wrapping happens to be one of my favorite things, especially at Christmastime. So a couple of days before Christmas, I gave Jim a gift. I offered to remove a holiday burden from his plate. If he would make sure all of my gifts (except for the Roomba — the girls each got me something, too) were in plain boxes that didn’t give away their contents, I would be happy to wrap my own gifts, including the Roomba. He very gratefully took me up on my offer.

So I wrapped my Roomba and propped it up against the wall by the tree and awaited Christmas morning as eagerly as the girls did. We all even complimented Jim on how beautifully my big present was wrapped. 🙂

I would love to tell you how well it works and how it has totally erased the need for normal vacuuming, but the truth is, I don’t know about that yet. I have been so excited to try it, but one thing the reviews (although positive) did say was that the robot gets hung up on obstacles on the floor, like electrical cords and most likely, a Christmas tree. Because of that, I have held my horses and waited until we undecorated for Christmas — and then of course the work and school week hit, so I’ll have to wait a few more days to see my miracle gift in action. I’ll most certainly keep you posted.

Did you have a gift this year that you couldn’t wait to put into use? If so, what was it and are you still as excited about it now one week later?

Comments on: "Roomba Me" (4)

  1. I got a sewing machine. I had a lot of trouble at first. It was skipping stitches. I had the manual out and I thread and retread the machine several times and it actually is working!!! I can’t believe it! I’m proud because I don’t feel I am technologically or mechanically inclined. Now I need the Roomba because when I am sewing, I am completely absorbed and nothing else gets done especially housework!

    • Jenny, the next time I see you, you must teach me to sew. I got a sewing machine for my birthday about 7 years ago and it has been out of my closet exactly once (when a friend, who sewed a lot, was showing me how to use it; we had so many problems threading it, etc. that we gave up and she finished our projects on her own machine. Sadly mine is waiting for me to have the nerve to try again. Sewing classes may be in order. 🙂

      • I wish I lived next door to you, so I could help you with your machine. I could try anyway. I had to thread and retread again and again because it is tricky, but finally I got it right! I just looked at the price tag on the Roomba. Gulp!!

  2. I cannot wait to hear how this things works.

    If I could have any robot, I’d love one that did the laundry, then sorted and folded it, and then finally put it all away.

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

