Musings from Home

Down to Grout Level

Part I of an occasional series on moving.

When you start thinking about moving, you realize all of the things you have to do before you can put your house on the market. There are the things you’ve put off, like refreshing the paint on trim whose paint has seen better days, decluttering closets, and packing up the abundant knickknacks found throughout the house. There is also the deep cleaning, which through the winter has more or less been forgotten about.

This past Sunday was the day that I chose to tackle some of these deep cleaning projects. After spending an hour or so with Emerald going through her spring/summer clothes to determine which still fit her and what holes are now in her wardrobe (that kid just won’t stop growing 🙂 ), I spent most of the afternoon in the master bathroom with good cleansers, a scrub brush, and a toothbrush.

I scrubbed every inch of the grout in that room, mostly with the toothbrush (although I did use my nails and an emery board for the really crusted on gunk — likely hairspray). I washed down the base boards. And I did the routine weekly cleaning of the rest of the bathroom. I’ll tell you when I was done, I wanted to bar everyone from using that bathroom from now until we move. It sparkled!

And when I got up off of the floor (I was on my hands and knees scrubbing the grout), I noticed that every muscle in my body ached. I always forget what great exercise that kind of cleaning can be. It is also incredibly gratifying, in a way that my weekly cleaning never is.

Now to grab that momentum and move on to the other spring cleaning, preparing-to-move tasks. There are still many to go . . .

Comments on: "Down to Grout Level" (6)

  1. Oh yeah, I know what you mean. When we moved, I was obsessed with clutter, especially since I hadn’t quite realized how much we had and how much junk my better half had squirreled away in various parts of the house.

  2. We are NEVER. MOVING. EVER.

    And should we ever move, I am hiring someone to come in and do it all for me.

  3. I was thinking of putting the house on the market. Nevermind.
    Good luck

    • There may not be as much to do if you haven’t lived there as long as we have (almost 12 years) and if you’ve kept up with minor repairs and renovations (updating paint, etc. etc.). We sold our previous house after two years and the prep was not nearly as extensive.

  4. When we moved into our house, we agreed we’d NEVER. MOVE. AGAIN.

    We moved from an apartment, so we didn’t have to clean things to impress potential buyers. But we did overlap domiciles a bit so we could totally re-paint the interior of the house before we moved in, and I can’t even imagine having that kind of energy any more!

    If we ever do move from this house, I’m sure we’ll be ancient enough to justify hiring a cleaning service. 🙂

  5. I do not envy your job of having to put your house on the market, keep it clean, get it sold THEN have everything to pack up. Fingers crossed it all goes smoothly and QUICKLY.

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

