Musings from Home

Everybody Has a Dream

For the past 10 years, I have been a big fan of American Idol. This year, for some reason, I just haven’t been able to get into it. Maybe I have too many other things going on. Maybe I’m just bored with it after all these seasons. I don’t know.

My girls have also enjoyed it in past seasons, so we have it set up on DVR. The other night, we watched one of the shows from a couple of weeks ago when the field was narrowed from the semi-finalists to the top 13. We all suddenly had our favorites, although I certainly wasn’t as riveted as I have been in the past.

Last night, I was flipping channels and decided to check in with Idol. Since it was Billy Joel week and he is one of my all-time favorite singers/songwriters, I stuck around. To my surprise, there were two songs chosen last night that I had never heard before (I thought I knew all of Billy Joel’s songs). One of them, “Everybody Has a Dream”, sung by one of the younger contestants, really caught my attention. Not really because of her performance, although she certainly was one of the judge’s favorites. It was the lyrics that got me.

“Everybody has a dream . . .” I hadn’t thought about having a dream in a really long time. I mean, I have plenty of dreams (hopes, wishes) for my family and my children. Things like having opportunities, striving for their dreams, having happy futures. I also have hopes, dreams, prayers about health for all of us. And dreams about vacations and time spent together.

But do I still have a dream for me, as an individual? This question flew around my brain for a moment and then my long-term dream solidified into a vision. Yes, it’s still there and it’s still something I plan to go for in the next few years, once Sapphire is in school and we’re settled in our new home. It’s funny how it had slipped to the back of my mind.

I’m not going to divulge my dream just yet, but it was incredibly freeing and motivating to realize it still has a presence, if relegated to the side for a little while. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in the everyday and forget our distant, but oh so present dreams.

Thank you, Billy Joel and thank you, American Idol. My step is a little lighter today as I look beyond all the tasks at hand to someday.

Okay, your turn. Do you have a dream?

Comments on: "Everybody Has a Dream" (2)

  1. My dreams are all competing with each other, so I try and go for the most practical one!

  2. When I was a kid, I wanted to be an astronaut. However, this was because I wanted to visit other planets, not because I wanted to become a pilot, or engineer, or biologist. Really, I think what I’m doing now, teaching classes about the geology and atmospheres of other planets, is as close as I could get to that dream. I’m paid to keep up with the current research, and then share it with others. I’m pretty happy it turned out this way, because I’m not sure I’d be as happy spending 6 months on a space station. 🙂

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

