Musings from Home

A Nostalgic Look Back

Yesterday morning while driving to Emerald’s school to tutor, I heard the Maroon 5 song, “Pay Phone”.  I didn’t really listen to the song at all, as my mind wandered thinking of all the things that were plentiful, even cool, in my childhood, but that my girls have only seen in old TV shows and movies, if at all.

Photo credit: Yahoo Images

Photo credit: Yahoo Images

I started making a mental, and later, a written, list:

  • Pay phones
  • Turntables
  • Console TVs
  • Rotary dial telephones
  • Typewriters
  • Cassette players (8 track players were already on the way out when I started paying attention, but I could add those, too)
  • Film and film cameras
  • Reel-to-reel movies and projectors
  • Slides and slide projectors
  • Popcorn poppers

And then there are things like the TV movie of the week. Who needs to schedule their Friday or Sunday evening around a TV movie when you can DVR, rent, or purchase pretty much any movie ever made and watch it whenever you want?

What would you add to this list?

Comments on: "A Nostalgic Look Back" (2)

  1. My girls and I were just talking about this last night. I tried explaining floppy discs (the big ones) to them, then moved on to punch cards, which I only barely remember.

  2. We were watching a Brady Bunch re-run the other night and it showed a young Bobby in the front seat with a lap belt.

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

